Bowman Pride

DrYoshiyahuDrYoshiyahu
Maplestory 2 Rep: 7,525
Forum Moderator
edited 8:06PM April 26, 2018 in Archer
Story time! I just wanted to share with you all why I'm proud to be an archer and why you should be, too.

When I started playing MapleStory, there were four classes: Warrior, Magician, Bowman, Thief. Everyone loved to play Warriors for their survivability and ally buffs. They were almost all Spearmen, and all basically necessary for a party quest. Everyone loved to play Mages for their crazy high damage, and especially Clerics for their heals. You couldn't go anywhere without seeing a Mage, and Clerics reigned supreme. And especially, people loved to play Thieves. For the mobility, for the damage, for the exploitable luck mechanics, for the Haste buff, and for Assassins. No one played Bowmen.

Now, I didn't know this. I just picked a class I thought sounded alright, just at a first glance. So I made my character, got through Maple Island and out of the tutorial, and just started walking until I found Henesys. Once I was there, I met Athena Pierce, and I thought, "yeah, this looks alright, I'll give this a go." So I grinded my way through ten more levels, until I was in the 20s. I had to keep buying arrows, I struggled to deal the same kind of damage as the other classes, I constantly died. I didn't have the health of a Warrior. I didn't have Magic Guard like a Mage. I couldn't attack while jumping through the air like a Thief.